1794: Part 2 & Thoughts On Love

More story tidbits!

Processed with VSCO with t1 presetThis week I’ve been giving more thought to this story. How long it will be, what else will happen, and most importantly, how will it end? I’m still working on it, but this week I’ve also edited and typed up more of what I had scribbled in my Moleskine.

The following link is where you can find my public folder on Google Drive, given the same temporary (is it still, though?) title of my novella, 1794. You can still find the the list of characters as well as Part 1, which I talked about last week, and added to the collection is Part 2:

Read it here! If you want to save it for later, just download the PDF, and it will be viewable offline. And here is the character list and Part 1, in case you want to read them again. ;)

Here is an excerpt, which I thought was sweet and fitting to what else I want to talk about this week in my post:

“This is the last day of school, isn’t it Juttice,” Mary enigmatically said.
“I won’t get to hold your hand on our walk anymore,” she whimpered, “not until the apples come.”
“That’s right,” Mary considered, “but I am sure we will get to go horse riding many a times this summer. Do you think you want to try this year?”
Mary didn’t let any child under 7 years of age ride, but Juttice was one of her favourites, and she thought she could ride with her for safety.
“Really?!” the little girl lit up.
“Of course! I will ask your parents, but it shouldn’t be a problem.”
“Thanks Mary!” Juttice squealed and wrapped her arms around her hips in a big hug.

So, what’s this now about love?

You know how you hear stories about, let’s say, bullies or people who are just unthoughtful and vile toward those outside their tight posse? I know Trump must have popped into your mind, but I was thinking on a smaller level.

For some reason, I was reminded of the tough teenage years this week, especially of today’s high school experience with all of its pressures, drama, and the people who think it and their place in it are the most important things in the world.

I’ve always known there was more to life than appearances and high school, but when I hear these stories, I wonder, why do people have to make life harder than it is? Why do we feel the need to exclude others, even people who used to be our friends, and why do we escalate things to nasty proportions? Not just the high school people, but anyone.

This week I also saw Lady Gaga’s ad for The Love Project, which nobody knows very much about yet (I tried looking for its website, but so far it’s only a hashtag, #theloveproject2017), but I think it’s so perfect anyway. I’m a huge fan of Gaga, and for her to take another step initiate something big and beautiful (like her Born This Way Foundation she founded with her mother to combat bullying, empower young people, and foster kindness), I think it’s just what we need.

Love.

Let me list you some of the things I love (and you tell me yours!): my sister, my parents, my black cat, Jack, New Brunswick, home, food, writing, movies, books, my bed and teddies, our cozy apartment in Montreal, and even all the new people I’ve never seen before on the metro or on my walk to work.

Why can’t we all just love ourselves, our flaws, abilities, and talents, and if we see something or someone we don’t like, just keep it to our damn self? Speaking about Lady Gaga, I was on cloud nine after I watched her awesome Super Bowl halftime show… Then I just inwardly screamed when I saw people online criticizing the little roll on her stomach (read a great article on it here). Yeah, she just jumped from the roof, sang her heart out of her greatest hits, danced, and did two costume changes in about 13 minutes, and you’re mad at her tummy? Come on people, get a life.

I just can’t take it sometimes. That’s why I like retreating to my little stories, and 1794 is nice to me: it’s set in a rural community at the cusp of the 19th century, with no big dramas, animosity, or exclusion. It’s gentle, it has love between mothers and daughters, girlfriends, adults and children, and couples. (You’ll see more of it soon!)

When life gets too much, I like to write, but I also like to take things slow, consciously take in what’s around me, appreciate the good food Jack and I make and savour together, and give out love and kindness whenever I can. Hehe, I also like taking relaxing and calming pictures with Jack, which is another thing we did this weekend, after a long walk through a windy downtown Montreal. Here are some of our favourites:

Well, that’s all for this week. I hope everyone has a wonderful week, call out anyone not being nice, and I’ll see you next Monday for more parts of 1794!

Love,

Nikki

One thought on “1794: Part 2 & Thoughts On Love

  1. You are an expert on all things LOVE. You have one of the kindest hearts I have ever met. Since you were a little girl you have been loving, gentle, generous and concerned about others. That is why everyone loves you. Keep up the lovely writing…

    Liked by 1 person

;)

